Fans of Young David and Young Joseph in the UK can order author-signed copies of any or all of the books in this pre-Christmas special offer.
Any 6 books for £30 (usually £36)
Any 3 books for £15 (usually £18)
Any 1 book for £5.50 (usually £6)
Free postage in the UK. Please visit David & Joseph’s website to view the books and put in your order.

Young David in South Korea

My Young David Books are now out in South Korean, published by Life Press. If any of you have friends or family who speak Korean (and might have some children they would like to buy these for) please let them know! I’m so chuffed :) (Would love to say that in Korean, but don’t know how.) And congratulations too to illustrator Amy Warmington (and her husband Andy) who have just given birth to a little boy. We grow Young David fans organically around here ;)

 

Supporting act for the Gruffalo

I was recently invited along to help open the new library of Woodlawn School in Whitley Bay http://www.woodlawn.org.uk/. However, when I got there I discovered I was a mere supporting act. When the Gruffalo arrived the children squealed with delight and queued up to have their picture taken with him. I managed to kick a few of them out of the way to make sure I had a chance with him too :) After he left, I donated a set of my Young David Picture Books on behalf of SPCK Publishing and read some stories to the younger children. I then spent some time with the senior students talking about the life of a writer. I hope the children and staff will spend many happy hours in their new library – it’s a magical place.

Storytelling time. The children of Woodlawn School enjoying the tale of David and the Giant.

The senior students of Woodlawn School receiving a set of Young David Books for their new library – a gift from SPCK Publishing.