Fiona Veitch Smith

Fiona Veitch Smith writes Golden Age mysteries and historical fiction and has been shortlisted for the CWA Historical Dagger. Her breakthrough series was Poppy Denby Investigates about a young reporter sleuth in 1920s London. The first book in the series, The Jazz Files, was shortlisted for the prestigious CWA Historical Dagger. Her new series, the Miss Clara Vale Mysteries with Embla Books (Bonnier UK), is set in and around Newcastle in the late 20s and early 30s, featuring a female forensic scientist who inherits a detective agency. The Picture House Murders (which reached #1 on Amazon’s Historical Mysteries charts) and The Pantomime Murders (#3) are out now, while The Pyramid Murders, will be published 13 June 2024. A further two books in the series are being contracted while the Poppy Denby books will be re-released by Embla in 2025.

Fiona has also written for theatre, short film and podcasts, and started out her creative career writing children’s picture books (SPCK).

She was born in Corbridge, Northumberland, then spent her teenage years and 20s in South Africa in the 1980s and 90s. She returned to the UK in 2002. As a journalist she worked on the arts and crime beats of a Cape Town newspaper, and then lectured in journalism in the UK for ten years. She holds a Bachelor of Journalism (Hons) and a Bachelor of History (Rhodes University), as well as an MA in Creative Writing (Northumbria University). Since leaving journalism she has worked as a university lecturer and a communications manager, does freelance editing and mentors new novelists.

Associations & Representation

Fiona is a member of the British Society of Authors, the Crime Writers’ Association (of which she was formerly the Communications Manager and is now a member of the Board), the Historical Writers’ Association, the Chartered Institute of Editors & Proofreaders, and the Association of Christian Writers. Fiona is represented by Sara Keane of Keane Kataria Literary Agency.

Twitter: @FionaVeitchSmit
Facebook: Fiona Veitch Smith
Instagram: fionaveitchsmith_author

Would you like to hear more about my upcoming books and promotions? Sign up to my mailing list and be the first to hear it! https://mailchi.mp/af954489f607/2zjdx1udwh

Send Fiona a message

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message

Please type the code


Copyright Fiona Veitch Smith 2024. Privacy Policy

Up ↑