The Miss Clara Vale Mysteries

Clara Vale is a lady detective with a degree in science from Oxford University. In 1929, she inherits her late uncle’s detective agency and laboratory in Newcastle upon Tyne and sets about building her new business as a forensic sleuth.

For lovers of Golden Age murder mysteries, historical fiction, feminist fiction and 1920s & 30s style! Published by Embla Books.

The Picture House Murders

A jam-jar cinema is burnt down during a matinee show, killing the projectionist. Arson is suspected. Clara takes on the case and discovers it’s linked to a murder much closer to home. Set in the colourful world of early cinema, just as silent films are being replaced by talkies. This is Clara’s first case where she finds out whether she really has what it takes to be a private detective.

“Highly entertaining and beautifully written to capture the spirit of the age.” – Netgalley Reviewer

“I love the character of Clara Vale – she has personality by the bucketload!” – Writers’ Narrative Magazine

The Pantomime Murders

Someone is killing fairy godmothers and stealing their wands. Set at Christmas in 1929, during the panto season, Clara investigates a baffling double murder – one at the Theatre Royal York and the other at Newcastle Theatre Royal, while trying to contain a family crisis at home.

Buy The Pantomime Murders now.

Fiona Veitch Smith is at the top of her game! The author’s ingenious plotting, the way she navigates the personal dynamics between people, and also her lightness of touch, are all outstanding.

Amazon Reviewer

The Pyramid Murders

An ancient Egyptian mummy donated to the Hancock Museum in Newcastle turns out to be a recent victim of murder. Clara goes to Cairo in February 1930 to solve the mystery.

Due out 13 June 2024.

Buy The Pyramid Murders now.

“1930s Cairo – a beautifully rendered period of Egyptian history. Exploring themes relevant to today’s ongoing discussions about post-colonialism, this is a ripping adventure in the company of a no-nonsense heroine.” – Vaseem Khan

The Poppy Denby Investigates Series

Poppy Denby is a reporter sleuth on a London tabloid, solving murders and mysteries with flapulous style. First published by Lion Fiction, the entire series will be re-published under the Embla imprint in 2025.

 The Jazz Files

The first in the Poppy Denby Investigates Series, published by Lion Fiction, September 2015. Poppy Denby gets a job as a journalist on a London newspaper and investigates the death of a Suffragette seven years earlier. As she follows the trail she too becomes the target of the suspected killer. The Jazz Files was shortlisted for the CWA Historical Dagger in 2016 and is available in paperback, ebook, large print and audiobook, published by WF Howes. On release it was awarded LoveReading’s Ebook of the Month.

For more on the Poppy Denby Investigates series including background material on the 1920s, film reels, period fashion and fabulous jazz recordings visit the dedicated Poppy website

Book 2 The Kill Fee, sees Poppy investigating the theft of a Faberge Egg and the assassination of a White Russian Princess in a West End Theatre. The Kill Fee was shortlisted for the Foreword Review Mystery Novel of the Year in 2017

Book 3 The Death Beat, sees Poppy and Rollo heading to New York for three months and discovering it’s murder in Manhattan.

Book 4 The Cairo Brief sees Poppy investigating a series of mysterious deaths surrounding the auction of the Death Mask of Nefertiti. The Cairo Brief was longlisted for the People’s Book Prize 2019.

Book 5 The Art Fiasco sees Poppy investigating the death of a world-famous artist while on holiday in Newcastle upon Tyne. The Art Fiasco was LoveReading’s Ebook of the Month in October 2020 and the Editor’s Top Pick.

Book 6 The Crystal Crypt is the final book (for now) in the Poppy series. It sees Poppy investigating the death of a talented woman scientist in Oxford. The Crystal Crypt was one of Crime Fiction Lovers’ top 5 murder mysteries of 2021.

Children’s Books

Fiona’s picture books and graphic novels for children are published by and available at SPCK Publishing. Click here to view.

Copyright Fiona Veitch Smith 2024. Privacy Policy

Up ↑